Astronauts, the Moon, and Disney: “That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it?”

Two of my most vivid and favorite dreams I’ve ever had are #1 I was 5 years old and found myself walking on the moon with 3 astronauts. 

My mom had sent my sister and I to Linda’s house in Walnut, CA. Linda and Joe were my parents best friends. 

 I remember my conversation with the astronauts who mainly spoke. I don’t recall what I said only that I was holding one of their hands, just before I woke up. 

I have always wanted to have that dream again and to this day has formed an obsession with the moon and everything outerspace.

 Convinced that I had literally been to the moon, I ran upstairs and found Linda on the sofa watching TV. Ecstatic, doesn’t even begin to describe it. Linda calmed me down, she cradled me on the sofa with her as I explained my dream in detail that night until I finally went back to sleep. Linda passed away several years later from cancer. I love that memory of her. 

 

My second favorite dream was with that of Mr. Walt Disney. 

I’ve luckily had 2 vivid dreams of meeting him and having a conversation in one I recall him saying “Never lose your imagination”.

 I had to have been about 10 years old at the time and the second was most recently about a year ago. Tonight for some reason “Feed The Birds”, once again popped into my head (and usually it’s Bad Brains and The Misfits popping in my head — really…). Aside from my all time favorite childrens stories, Peter Pan, The Sword In The Stone, and of course Mary Poppins they will always be my favorite. I wasn’t aware until tonight that my favorite Disney film song was also, Walt Disney’s.

[Rarely was anyone able to get Walt to talk about his “favorite” film, song, Disneyland attraction and so on. But in the case of “Mary Poppins,” he had a clear favorite: “Feed the Birds.” His affection for that song led to a kind of ritual about which Richard Sherman loves telling: 
“When we were reading various stories written by Ms. Travers, we came across the bird woman selling bread crumbs, who said, ‘Feed the birds – tuppence a bag.’ And we said to each other, ‘That’s the metaphor for the whole film.’ A little extra bit of kindness – it doesn’t take much. After all a tuppence is no money at all. There’s a great statement there that describes the whole picture. 

“Mary Poppins teaches the family how to stick together and do things for each other. 

I think that’s why Walt loved the song. It has to do with being kind and loving. It’s what his life was all about, really. 

“Usually, after the hectic week, Walt would ask us how we were doing, and we’d tell him what we were working on.Then he’d ask us to play it and I’d sit down and play and he’d look out the north window and get wistful.

“Then he’d turn around and say, ‘That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? Well, have a good weekend boys.‘ I love that memory.” ]

YouTube – Feed The Birds – Mary Poppins (Julie Andrews).

He just got it. 

I will now go back to listening to the Buzzcocks and Bad Brains until maybe Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious dances into my brain.

 

One thought on “Astronauts, the Moon, and Disney: “That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it?”

  1. The Reality of Dreams

    The dreams of our childhood usually carry us through our lives. They provide, not so much the trajectory, but the destinations from which we are traveling and to which we are going. Dreams and memories last for as long as we desire to hold onto them.

    You are not alone in dreams and memories. There is a story about a young boy born in Nantan, Kyoto. This boy loved to draw the area around his home and especially the caves and other natural features surrounding his home. Years later he would share these dreams and memories with the rest of the world in a game that is widely regarded as the greatest series of all time: The Legend of Zelda.

    Then again, there is the story of Marc Chagall. One of the greatest artists of all time, Chagall would paint of the stories and dreams he had when growing up Jewish in Russia. The paintings defy the laws of reality by showing flying people, talking animals, and green humans. His influence is found today in music and other art forms as well.

    The point is that one can never really be sure where one’s dreams will go. We can only try to remember them in our waking life. And, I guess, that is the point of these two blog posts. They combine the essence of humanity and, thus, the stuff of reality: blood and dreams. That is the strange mixture that we humans can never quite escape, no matter how hard we try. We try and separate it, dissect it, and free ourselves from either our dreams or our blood; only to find out that in denying the one, we are denying the whole. In embracing the both, we find that art is possible and science is possible and love and hope and all the things that were created for us on our tiny little planet. The reality we try to escape from is the reality long to be at peace with. And that is the point of dreams, origin and terminus, they are the real fiction and the unreality that makes us real.

Leave a Reply

